top of page

The Queen Bee







So, the minute that I saw these cute bees, hive and paper from Honey Bee Stamps, the idea for this box popped into my head. It was torture waiting the week for my order to arrive and I was like a kid in a candy store when it did! While I was making this card my son came into the craft room to ask a question (probably checking to make sure I was still alive and able to get him some food!) hahaha! I showed him what I was working on and he proceeds to say You should make those bees slide. I was like OMG! You, my brilliant son, are now my favourite child. I am leaving the entirety of my craft room to you!


Now came the planning on how to accomplish the idea. I started with the box set from Lawn Fawn and cut out the box on green cardstock. I then had to cut the hills longer than the die cut so it did some partial die cutting. I took the straight panels from the box set and leaving room on the green cardstock, ran it through my cuttlebug just up to the top edge. Then I took one the hills from another Lawn Fawn set, Shadow Box, and lined it up to the uncut part I had just run through the machine and cut only the top portion of the die down to the bottom cut line.


www.scrapbookpal.com/lawn-fawn-lawn-cuts-scalloped-box-card-pop-up/

Then I just cut the portion that didn't go through the machine to release the shape from the cardstock. next I folded along the score lines on left and right side. Laying the shape flat I used a ruler and Exacto knife to cut a line about (.5 of an inch from the top of the die cut)from left to right leaving approx. .25 of an inch on either side uncut. I did this same process again for the second hill.


I then glued the 2 die cut box shapes together, just the one flap so the box is still able to lie flat. The glue I used was TomBow Mono Multi liquid. Next, I lined up the hills, one hill on the right side and the other on the left side, so that the top of the side score line on the hill reached the score line on the side box flap. I then glued that as well(just the one side of each hill).




Now I needed to cut a slit using, my exacto knife, for the pull strip to go through the score line where the hill meets the side of the box. Make sure it goes through the whole way and that the pull strip slides through easily. I wanted my pull tabs sliding opposite directions so I made one slit on the right and one on the left of the box.






Next I placed double sided foam tape along the top and bottom of the line leaving room for the pull tab to slide with ease..



After that was done, I slid a strip of acetate (that I will be adhering the bee to)through the slit on front side of the hill. I used double sided tape to adhere the acetate strip to the pull strip. I did this on both hills.


What I did next was cut out patterned panel for the back of the box. Then glued it to the inside back panel of the box.



After I had this part set up, I switched to the stamping portion. For all the images I stamped them on white Copic friendly cardstock. I use Neenah Classic Crest Solar White. The ink I use is Gina K Amalgam ink in Obsidian which is also Copic friendly. The cute bees and the hive set is called Bee Hive from Honey Bee Stamps.



The adorable Caffeinated Bee comes from The Rabbit Hole Designs.



I coloured everything with Copic markers. The colours used were:

Bees all stamped out 2x- Y00, Y06, Y15, Y17

Bee wings- B0000, BG000

Hive- E00, E41

Crown- E00, Y28 then topped with tiny, light yellow, self adhesive bling

Coffee mug-C01 then drew flower on cup using BG23 to match flowers on back panel

The crown is cut using my Cricut with the Sophisticated cartridge small girls crown set to the 1" setting. I cut it out using white cardstock.



I also die cut the side panel squares using the blue hexagon print paper from the same Honey bee paper pad.




I glued the hills and front box flap together to create the box. Then I stamped a dotted line on each side panel and added a bee to the end of each line. Then I glued each panel onto a grey cardstock base so that a thin line of grey showed around the whole square.

I placed one of the yellow bling dots in each corner then adhered squares onto the side box flaps. I cut the front flap panel out of the same flowered pattern paper that I used for and placed it on the grey cardstock to create a thin border as well and adhered it to the front flap.


The sentiment "The Queen must have her coffee!" was one I just thought of and printed from a word doc that I typed out in grey on my computer. I cut it out using a stitched banner die I had then put a grey cardstock matt on it as well. I then adhered it to the front flap using my ATG tape gun.


The last step was to add the bees. I used glue on the ones I wanted to lay flat and double sided tape on the ones I wanted to pop out. I made sure to add bees to the pull tab and faced them in the direction the recipient is to pull.




I had so much fun making this card and am super happy with how it turned out!

Products I used and links:









31 views0 comments
bottom of page