top of page

Space Portal

Today I have an out of this world card featuring the fabulous new release from The Rabbit Hole Designs LLC. I wanted to create a card where the astronaut is going out on their very first spacewalk to explore the galaxy around her. This out of this world release coincides perfectly with this months first manned space launch on US soil in almost a decade!



I started this card by creating a galaxy background using my Koi watercolours on Canson watercolour paper measuring 5.48 x 4.23 ( just smaller than the A2 card base). I started by placing down some black in a few areas and then let it dry completely. I then added some colour, blue and magenta around the black and let that dry. Then I filled in any empty areas with black, blue or magenta to get this galaxy effect. Once the background was completely dry I secured it to an A2 card base.





I stamped the astronaut and the sentiment onto watercolour paper using Gina K amalgam ink in Obsidian. I then watercoloured the background with white and light gray around the edges and outline of the astronaut to create shadowing. On the astronaut I used light brown for shadowing. I then watered down some diamond glaze and brushed it over then front of the helmet and let that dry. To create the panels of the spaceship that are behind the astronaut I drew lines with cool grey prismacolor pencil and added bolts as well.


For the edges of the portal to the galaxy, I water coloured the same colors as the galaxy background. Then fussy cut the whole image out. I printed NASA in red from my computer onto photopaper (you can also use cardstock) trimmed it down then adhered it on the spaceship using Tombow multimedia adhesive.


I took the sentiment that I stamped, trimmed it and mounted it on black cardstock. I angled the sentiment on the bottom right corner of the card. Before I secured the portal I curled the edges of the torn portal up to give it dimension. Then I adhered it to card in my desired location.




3 views0 comments
bottom of page