top of page

Just a Small Poof


This is a card I created and have dubbed "Small Poof". I named him that because of my 9yr old son. My son is often my crafting buddy/company when I am in my craft room. He is what I call a "true artist". He has natural talent and skill beyond his age so I often ask his opinion of my creations.I had first made this card it without any light. My son saw it and told me that the dragon should have a light for fire. Not a big puff, just a little one because he hasn't had his coffee yet. I was like OMG, of course, why didn't I think of that!


To make the scaly background, I used black cardstock cut to A2 (5.5x4.25)size. I then using Pixie spray on the broken glass stencil from The Rabbit Hole Designs, I placed that over the black cardstock. Next I used the glue pad and smooshed that directly over the stencil making sure there was an even distribution of glue all over the cardstock. I carefully removed the stencil and poured spring green Pearl Ex powder (which I had purchased years ago but have seen recently at Hobby Lobby) over it and used my finger to rub it into the glue. Then I used a fine paint brush to brush the excess powder off the black parts. Finally I sprayed the panel with hairspray to set it.


I stamped the Caffeintated Dragon stamp again from The Rabbit Hole Designs onto Neenah Solar White cardstock then coloured him with Copics: Y00, Y06, Y15 and Y19 for the dragon and for the mug, YG11 and YG07. Then I die cut the dragon using the matching die. The sentiments were stamped using the glue pad on black cardstock and sprinkled the sentiments with the same colour PearlEx powder, rubbed it into the glue, brushed off the excess then sprayed with hairspray to set the powder.


Time to set up the light. I learned how to make a light-up card by watching Jennifer McGuire videos. She does a much better job explaining the process than I could so here is the link to the video I watched. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ttv0PWHlgPc&t=10s

I used my Chibitronics starter kit and chose a red light. Perfect for a dragons fire. I then placed the dragon on the scaly background and used my Spellbinders Tool in One to pierce a small hole in the background right by the mouth. I followed the instructions in Jennifer's video to set up the light effect.




After I had the light working the way I wanted, I used double sided foam tape all over the panel with the dragon on it and placed that on my card base. I taped the dragin sentiment flush onto the card above the dragon and the magical elixir I used double sided foam tape to bump it up. Inside the card you can tell the recipient to press in the dragon to get the poof of fire.


I was so happy with how this card turned out. Thankful that my son gave me the idea to make the card light up. It has turned out to be my favourite light up card I have made so far.


Products I used for this card are available from:











18 views0 comments
bottom of page