top of page

Halloween Potion labels



My household loves Halloween! It is my 9 yr old's very favourite holiday and the creepier the decorations, the better. This year I decided to make my own potion bottles to add to our mantle decorations. This was so easy and fun!


First thing I did was look around the house for bottles I could repurpose. I found an old wine bottle that was the perfect shape for one label that I had in mind. The other bottle I purchased off of Amazon.


To create the labels, I used 2 dies that I already had in my stash (I cannot remember which companies they are from though) that I thought would be good size and shapes for the bottles. Then, I went to my computer to create the name of my potions on a word document.


The Draught of Living Death was inspired by a potion of the same name from a book about a certain 11yr old wizard. I also wanted to use the skull and arm die from I-crafter's Mini Halloween Hauntings set. I knew that they would be perfect for the label I had in mind. The font I used for the potion's name was the Blackadder font. I printed it out onto plain white cardstock, trimmed it down to A2 size and backed it with Stick It paper. Next, I die cut it out using the label shape I had chosen.


I wanted a used, aged look to the label so I ink blended Distress Oxide inks in Antique Linen, Gathered Twigs, Vintage Photo and Black Soot onto and around the edges of the label. I then die cut 1 skull and 2 arms and inked them up as well but only with the Antique Linen and Gathered Twigs. I adhered them onto the label in Skull and Crossbones fashion.

Lastly, I splattered Gathered Twigs over the label to add to the creepy effect.



The next label I made was the Blood Of Bat potion. I used the same process for this label as I did to create the first label. The font I used for this one was Bradley Hand IT. I used Bat die from the Halloween Tunnel Card Insert set and die cut 2 bats from dark red cardstock. I then inked their edges with Black Soot. I glued the bat on the label, peeled the sticker paper off the label and placed it on the round bottle. Now, the label has some crease lines to it because of the bottle shape but I am ok with that as I feel it adds a little more authenticity to the potion.



To finish off these potions I added twine and a tag I made using the word Beware from the Halloween Tunnel card insert. To my bat potion I used lace ribbon, red velvet ribbon and then the other red bat.



Thanks for visiting. I hope you like my potions and try making your own Halloween decorations. It's so fun and satisfying!


Click on my link below for the I-crafter products I featured:




Scrapbook.com link for the Distress oxide inks:





26 views0 comments
bottom of page