top of page

Farmhouse in a Jar



Hello everyone. Today I have my country farmhouse home decoration to share. I created my tiny jar scene using the new Mini Manors 3D die set from I-crafter.


To create my little scene, I started by die cutting 2 barns out of red cardstock, 1 of the 2 story house from white cardstock and also one cottage from white cardstock.


Next, using coloured pencils, I colored the all the roofs black, and also the front door of the 2 story house black. I adhered beige vellum on the inside of the 2 story house to cover the windows and black cardstock on the inside of the cottage to cover the windows. I folded along all the score lines and adhered the tabs to create the 3D farmhouses, cottage and house.


I then adhered the cottage to the side of the house and also the side of one barn to the back of the other. I also created a small silo to add to the back corner.



To create the silo, I drew vertical lines on a small piece of grey paper using a gray coloured pencil. I then curled the paper using my coloured pencil, then glued the edge to close it. For the top of the silo, I used a large hole punch to make a circle. I then used the burnisher tool and pad to create a curve then adhered it to the top of the silo.

With my barn and house finished I set to work on the jar. I spread moss on the bottom of the jar. I made a hill using a cotton ball that I darkened with Mowed Lawn Forrest Moss Distress Oxide inks. I placed coloured cotton ball in the jar and covered it with a light layer of moss.

Next, I added 3 little light balls to the jar then placed my house in towards the front of the jar and the barn up on the hill.


I then rimmed the lid of the jar with lace and created a flower using the Box Pops Oval Base. For the flower, I die cut 3 layers of the large flower in red cardstock and the center part in black. Then die cut 2 leaves in green. To make the flower 3D, I used the burnisher tool with the pad and rounded each petal, the black center, and the leaves. Then I adhered the flower and leaves to the lid.


I think this would look so sweet sitting up on a fireplace mantle. I hope I have inspired you to create a jar scene of your own! Thanks for visiting! Happy Crafting!


I-Crafter:






bottom of page