top of page

80's Ladies Unite!


I think many of us who were teenagers in the 80's went through the neon craze. Well, neon has found its way into crafting and I am loving it! As a teenager of the 80's, I am now finding that I can totally relate to the Hot Flash Grumplings set from Taylored Expressions. The sentiments in that set are spot on!


I chose a slimline card base so I can get lots of neon and those cute critters in. I first stamped a bunch of fan images and the grumplings onto white cardstock. All of the colouring was done with Prismacolour pencils. The colours I used were:

Black areas: black, cool gray 10%, 20%, 50% and 70%

Grumplings and fans: Neon Pink, Neon Yellow, and Neon Orange.

To get the neon background in the windows, I used Rina K Electro Pop Neon Enamel transfer sheets in Orange Glow, Hello Yellow, and Poppin' Pink. The stencil I used for the transfer sheets was Square Illusion by The Rabbit Hole Designs. I first sprayed the back of the stencil with Pixie Spray so all the thin lines stay put. Then place that over a 6x6 piece of white cardstock. Next I spread Deco Foil gel Duo over the stencil(carefully removing then washing stencil and spreader with soapy water right away). You have to leave the Duo gel to "cure" for 24hrs.


The next day I placed squares of the pink, yellow and orange, enamel sheets over my deco gelled background. I then placed that in between parchment paper and ran it through my laminator. After it cooled I carefully peeled away the transfer sheet and the neon portion where the gel was stayed stuck on the gel background.


To create the window portion of the card I used Trinity Stamp Company's Stitched Card Panels and Windows die set to create the black window panel and the bright blue cardstock border. Next, I trimmed then adhered the neon squared to fit behind the windows. I then adhered the black window panel to the blue background panel. I put double sided foam tape behind the zebra because I canted her to stand out. I then adhered the rest of the Grumplings and fans onto the panel. Once the panel was done I adhered it onto my white slimline card base.


To create the sentiment on a straight line, I used my Misti and only inked up the top line, stamped it onto bright blue cardstock. I cleaned my stamp, lined it up so the bottom line of the stamp would be beside the top line then inked only that line and stamped it on as well. I then used the straight banner die from Trinity Stamps Scalloped Card Panels and Banners slimline set to cut out the sentiment. To complete my fun and very neon card, I used double sided foam tape and adhered the sentiment to the front of the card.


I showed this card to my husband and he immediately set me up with a black light so I could see how all that neon lit up under it. Wow! Did the card ever pop! Really brought me back!



I really hope you enjoy this card and decide to give neon a try!

Happy Crafting!


Product links below:



Rina K transfer enamels:

https://shrsl.com/2drww


Deco foil Duo transfer gel:


Mini Misti:

https://shrsl.com/2dry2


Trinity Die sets:

https://shrsl.com/2drxm

Blick Art Supplies, Prismacolour pencils:

https://shrsl.com/2bc06





38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page