top of page

Skating Santa-Day 1 July release and inspiration blog hop The Rabbit Hole Designs

To celebrate the next three days of release, The Rabbit Hole Designs is giving away two gift certificates; one to a lucky Instagram Follower and one to a lucky Fan Page follower. Winner will be chosen at random from the comments left on the INSTAGRAM post, and tagging friends, and also from commenting on the Fan Page post. So make sure to head on over to INSTAGRAM and look for the giveaway post @therabbitholedesignsllc and look for the post at The Rabbit Hole Designs Fan Page by 11:59 p.m. PST 07-02-2020. Winner will be announced on The Rabbit Hole Designs blog 07-03-2020.


I am in love with the Santa in the new cute and whimsical Kringle stamp set from The Rabbit Hole Designs. Some of my favourite childhood memories are skating outside on a frozen pond or handmade ice rink a friends dad made in a nearby field. Those fond memories were the inspiration for my skating Santa card.



In order to have plenty of room for my Santa to skate, I needed lots of room.

A slimline card is perfect for that. The base I used is a Neenah Solar white 110lbs measuring 8.5 x 3.75. And for the background I used Neenah Solar White 80lb cardstock. Using a blending brush, I lightly brushed Salty Ocean Distressed oxide ink in a half circle on the bottom center of the background and also around the top. To create the ice, I added a touch of water to diamond glaze in a small container and then brushed it over the blue half circle using a paint brush. I set that aside to dry.




On a separate piece of Copic friendly cardstock, I stamped out the Santa, 2 small trees and 3 of the large trees and the banner using Gina K Amalgam ink. I also stamped Ho! three times on the banner. Then I coloured the images with Copics. Then fussy cut them all out.

Santa: Red: R20, R 24, R29, R89

White/Grey: C0, C1,C3

Black: C3, C5, C7

Face: E00, R11

Trees: Green:G00, G05, G17

I cut a slit in Santa's left mitten by the thumb and glued the banner onto his hand so he can hold the banner.


Once the Diamond glaze was dry. I used a ruler and Exacto knife to cut a slit across the ice approx. 3/4" up from the bottom to allow Santa to "skate".




I flipped the background over and placed a strip of double sided foam tape along the bottom of the slit and again along the top of the slit running it's whole length and also over the rest of the panel. I made sure to leave room for the pull tab to fit between the two lines. I also placed a strip of foam tape at the end of slit to act as a stopper for the pull tab.



I cut a strip for the pull tab approx. .25" wide and 7" long. Near the end of the pull strip using double sided tape I adhered a thin strip of mylar (acetate). This strip will go through the slit in the ice and then attach to Santa's skate/leg.



On the front of the panel, I used a sponge dauber to sponge Versamark ink around the whole perimeter of the ice. Then I used Hero Arts Puffy white embossing powder to create a "snowbank". After that cooled down and "set", I glued the trees near the snow bank. I then stamped the Merry Christmas sentiment on the top right of the panel. It was then time to attach (using double sided tape) Santa to his mylar strip so he could start skating.




Now that the panel is all set up I removed the backing from the foam tape and placed the panel onto the base. Voila! You have a skating Santa!






Lauren (you are here)















30 views0 comments
bottom of page