top of page

Cherry Blossom Shaker

Updated: Jul 10, 2020



Visiting Japan during cherry blossom season is definitely on my bucket list! I dream of being surrounded by all those beautiful fragrant blossoms. So when Hero Arts came out with their cherry blossom products I knew I had to have them!


My cherry blossom slimline shaker card features two products that work great together. I used the Cherry Blossom fancy die set and the Waves and Clouds background stamp. I wanted a simple colour scheme so I opted for pearl embossing on white with the only colour coming from the sequins.


I started out by lining up the 3 window slimline panel die inside the scalloped slimline border on Neenah Solar White 80lb cardstock and running that through my die cutting machine. Then using my HA Misti I placed the die cut panel in and with my Versamark ink pad, stamped the wave background onto the panel. I sprinkled my pearl embossing powder on then heat set it. The stamp isn't wide enough so I used the same process to emboss the rest of the panel, trying to line the image up as best I could. Then I did the same thing but onto a solid piece of the same cardstock. This would be for the back of the shaker.


Next, I die cut two cherry blossom branches. To make them pearlized, I inked them fully with Versamark, covered them with the pearl embossing powder, and heat set them.


I trimmed the embossed waves and clouds and adhered them to my slimline card base (8.5x3.5)so the design would show through the windows. Next I flipped over the window panel and using double sided tape, adhered a strip of acetate to cover the 3 windows. I then double layered my double sided foam tape and added it all around the windows (even in between the windows).


Now that the "wells" for the sequins were ready, I filled each one with the October-Opal Sparkle blend from Doodles Paper Playground. They have all kinds of awesome blends that would work great if they no longer have the one I used. After filling the wells, I took the release paper off the back of the tape then adhered the base onto the panel.




Lastly, I glued the cherry blossoms onto the front of the card where I wanted them. I decided not to place a sentiment on the front because I loved how the card looked without one. I think this card could be used for many ocasions.


I had lots of fun making this beautiful cherry blossom shaker card. I hope you enjoy it! Happy crafting!




Click on product link link to be taken to website:


Cherry Blossom die set:


Waves and Clouds background:


Versamark:


Pearl embossing powder:


Misti:


Sequin Mix:

https://www.etsy.com/search?q=doodles%20paper%20playground&ref=auto-1


11 views0 comments
bottom of page