top of page

A Visit From Santa


I wanted to create a card which depicted a visit from the Jolly one himself. I can just imagine the children creeping down the stairs because they thought they heard a noise. Eager to see if Santa had visited them yet.


I created this card using The Rabbit Hole Designs Kringle stamp set and the Slice of Christmas stencil. Starting with Kraft cardstock, I used the stencil and silver glitter paste to create iciclesat the top of the paper. once that was completely dry I used my scor-pal to score haphazard vertical lines below the icicles to resemble the texture of cedar shake siding. Then, I cut it into horizontal strips and in each strip I cut uneven slits all the way across. On an unscored piece of craft paper I used Versamark ink on the snowbank from the Slice of Christmas stencil. I then covered that with Hero Arts puffy white embossing powder. Before I heat set that I sprinked a little glitter over top. Next I assembled and adhered those components onto a A2 sized kraft panel.


The window was created using a die from my stash. I lined up the window die so that the top of the window frame would be just under the icicle layer. After that I put acetate behind the window for glass and used a white gel pen to create snow on the glass.

I stamped Santa and the banner on Copic friendly cardstock using Gina K Obsidian ink . I coloured Santa using R20, R24, R29. C00, C01 and E15, E37

Next I stamped 3 trees onto green cardstock and used my white gel pen to create snow on the trees. Then added it all to the front panel.


For the tree inside the window I used a tree from the stencil with pink glitter paste on white cardstock then let it dry. To create the background I used Salty Ocean Distress oxide ink with a stencil from my stash. When the pink tree was dry I fussy cut it out and adhered it to the blue stenciled background. I adhered that to a kraft A2 card base.


Before Placing the window panel on a added a light element to make the room light up. See below pics for set up.

After making sure the light system worked I finished placing the foam tape (triple layered). to the panel. Finally I removed the release paper from the tape and carefully lined up the top panel to the card base.


I hope you enjoy my card and that it inspires you to create a Santa scene yourself. They are so fun to make. Happy crafting.

Some products used and links:

Misti:

versamark:


Distress oxides:


Tombow liquid glue:

https://shrsl.com/2bcem


Copics:




4 views0 comments
bottom of page